Coming back home in America

It was nice while it lasted to go and see a different country. The UK is a place that sends me calming waves. The architecture and the people themselves were helpful and inspiring. I hate to say it, but I think I have found my new home. The plane ride over of course was not one of the best part of the trip. Having your flight be delayed over six hours in Charlotte and then two hours in Newark was not what I would have expected. Sleeping on the flight over was another issue. In order to get some sleep my feet hung off the back of someone’s arm rest, while my pillow was on the side of the plane and my shoulder, and my blanket covered me from head to toe. I might have only slept for two hours that whole eight hour ride. The others, I tried to doze off…if that were possible.

When we landed in Edinburgh, I was so happy to touch the ground and see grass in a distance. While waiting for luggage, I decided to find a seat and wait for our ride, which ended up taking two hours. I ended up laying down-since there were no cell phone signals over in the UK-and passed out before our driver showed up to come pick us up.

Scotland itself was a sight to see. The people were magnificent, the food was excellent, and salty air made me truly feel like I was at home. The beer tasted like it was freshly brewed. A drink I would like to call, Snakebite, was my favorite choice of all. And of course I had to have some Guinness! I did get a little tipsy while I was having some fun a couple of nights. But in all, my favorite place would have to be Scotland.

We ended up going from Scotland to England, and then to Wales, and then to Ireland. I think by the end of my trip, I was ready to  go home! Once I made it back in the States, I of course turned my phone on and praised to the ceiling to have signal once again. I called my family and friends and could not wait to hear their voices. That night, I barely got an ounce of sleep thanks to being excited…as well as the coffee in take I had that day.

Leave a Reply

